Research guides
In depth research guidance
Detailed research guides covering our collections
Our detailed research guides aim to familiarise you with some of our collection areas. We want you to be able to focus on your chosen subject and try to direct you towards the most relevant sources in our collections. If you can't find what you're looking for here, contact us to see if we can provide any further information.
Research Guide
Audio-Visual Collections
Research Guide
Find out more about our audio-visual collections and how to access them
Research Guide
Black African and Caribbean histories
Research Guide
Explore how to research the history of people of Black African and Caribbean heritage in London
Research Guide
Brewery records
A quick guide to our brewery holdings
Find out about Brewery records held at The London Archives in this quick guide to our collections.
Research Guide
Research Guide
Chinese histories
Research Guide
Discover records for researching the history of the Chinese community in London
Research Guide
City of London Corporation: administrative records
Research guide
Search the records of Court of Aldermen and Court of Common Council
Research Guide
City of London Police - records of Police Officers
Research Guide
Find out how to research records relating to individual officers in the City of London Police force
Research Guide
Research Guide
Court of Orphans
Research Guide
Discover records of the Court of Orphans which functioned to protect the underage orphans of freemen in the City of London
Research Guide
Criminal court cases: an overview
Research Guide
Investigate how to search for criminal court cases in London
Research Guide
Criminal court cases: City of London Sessions
Research Guide
Find criminal trials heard at the City of London Sessions including at the Old Bailey
Research Guide
Criminal court cases: County of London Sessions
Research Guide
Locate criminal trials heard at the County of London Sessions
Research
Criminal court cases: Middlesex Sessions up to 1889
Research Guide
Locate criminal trials heard at the Middlesex Sessions including at the Old Bailey
Research Guide
Criminal court cases: Middlesex Sessions post 1889
Research Guide
Find our how to research criminal trials heard at the Middlesex Sessions from 1889 onwards
Research Guide
Disability and Impairment records
Research Guide
Find out more about how to research the records held at TLA that relate to disability and impairment.
Research Guide
Drainage applications and plans
Research Guide
Find drainage applications and plans for the inner London area
Research Guide
Electoral registers
Research Guide
Look for individuals in London and Middlesex who were able to vote in elections
Research Guide
Research Guide
Fire Brigade records
Research Guide
Find information on fires and fire brigade staff in London and Middlesex
Research Guide
Research Guide
Freedom of the City of London
Research Guide
Trace individuals who were granted the Freedom of the City of London
Research Guide
Research Guide
LGBTQ+ History - general sources
Quick guide
In this guide we will explore some of the collections that researchers can use to trace the history of LGBTQ+ people in London.
Research Guide
LGBTQ+ organisations and individuals
Quick Guide
In this guide we outline some of the sources available to researchers exploring LGBTQ+ history in London, specifically records we hold relating to LGBTQ+ organisations and individuals.
Research Guide
Livery company members and apprentices
Research Guide
Use this research guide if you want to trace individuals who were either full members or apprenticed to members of City of London livery companies.
Research Guide
Lloyd's of London Captains' Registers
Research Guide
Find a mariner who was active between 1869 and 1947 in the Lloyd's Captains' Registers
Research Guide
London County Council: an overview
Research guide
Overview of the collections of the London County Council
Research Guide
Marriage licences, bonds and allegations
Research Guide
Search for marriage licences issued in the City of London and the counties of Middlesex and Surrey
Research Guide
Middlesex Deeds Registry
Research Guide
Locate deeds from 1708 to 1938 in the Middlesex Deeds Registry
Research Guide
Nonconformist records
Research Guide
Find nonconformists in London including Methodists, Congregationalists, Baptists and PresbyteriansResearch Guide
Middlesex Deeds Registry
Research Guide
Locate deeds from 1708 to 1938 in the Middlesex Deeds RegistryResearch Guide
Nonconformist records
Research Guide
Find nonconformists in London including Methodists, Congregationalists, Baptists and Presbyterians
Research Guide
Parish registers
Research Guide
Search for Church of England baptisms, marriages and burials in LondonResearch Guide
Parish registers
Research Guide
Search for Church of England baptisms, marriages and burials in London
Research Guide
Poor Law records from 1834 onwards
Research Guide
Discover how to search post 1834 poor law records including workhouse admissions
Research Guide
Second World War: bomb damage
Research Guide
Search for information on Second World War bomb damage in London
Research Guide
Research Guide
Stock Exchange records
Research Guide
Discover how to search the Stock Exchange collection for listed companies and members
Research Guide
Theatres and Music Hall records in London
Research Guide
Discover sources for researching theatres and music halls in London
Research Guide
Trade directories
Research Guide
Learn how to find businesses and individuals in trade directories for London
Research Guide
Trinity House records
Research Guide
Discover records of the Corporation of Trinity House which was responsible for lighthouses and maritime pilots
Research Guide
Watermen and lightermen
Research Guide
How to get information about individuals who worked as watermen or lightermen on the River Thames
Research Guide