LGBTQ+ organisations and individuals
In this guide we outline some of the sources available to researchers exploring LGBTQ+ history in London, specifically records we hold relating to LGBTQ+ organisations and individuals. We also produce a separate guide outlining more general sources on LGBTQ+ History.
Whether it is through official records, personal papers or other historical documents, our archives offer a rich and fascinating glimpse into the lives of LGBTQ+ peoples past and present.
A note on language
Language used to describe people of who identify as LGBTQ+ is ever changing and can have different meanings and associations for different people.
Throughout history, some words and terms have been used to degrade and dehumanise people. Within the archival records, there are numerous instances of derogatory and offensive language. This language may appear on our catalogue if it occurs in the original file or in the name of an organisation.
When searching our catalogue, you may need to use historic terms to excavate historic LGBTQ+ histories. We have started a process of reviewing our own descriptive work for harmful language. The inclusion of such terms is not an endorsement of such language or an uncritical tolerance of the perpetuation of such language.
Records of LGBTQ+ organisations
Campaign for Homosexual Equality: Southwark/Lambeth Group (LMA/4539)
This collection includes minutes, constitution and correspondence highlighting local campaign events and activities, 1976 – 1989.
Campaign for Homosexual Equality: London Section (B13/127)
The collection includes minutes, correspondence, newspaper cuttings and speeches of Paul Olliver, Chair 1979 – 1981.
Central London Arts Limited, The Drill Hall (B13/144)
An arts centre with a history of radical/LGBTQ productions. Collection includes files on theatre productions and other activities, including work of Gay Sweatshop, 1970s – 2000s.
Kenric (B16/071)
A national organisation offering a social network to lesbians throughout the UK, established in 1965. Records include chair’s papers, constitution & procedures, committee minutes, correspondence, accounts, promotional material and photographs.
Lesbian Gay Bisexual and Transgender Advisory Group (B06/161)
An independent voluntary group of LGBT advisors to the Metropolitan Police Service. The records include minutes and policy papers; annual reports; newsletter; Sue Sanders' subject files including family liaison, conferences and training with related external reports and publications, 1999 – 2004.
Lesbian London (LMA/4540). Publishers of Lesbian London magazine
The records include minutes, policy, correspondence including comments and responses to articles, published magazine issues, finance, advertising and photographs. Includes the collective’s ‘The Lesbian London Survey’ initiative with returned questionnaires and statistics (LMA/4540/03/007), 1991 – 1995.
London Gay Teenage Group (B20/050)
A group for gay and lesbian young people under the age of 21. The collection comprises minutes, administrative papers and publicity. 1978 – 2005
Northwest London Gay Group (B13/128)
A social group established in 1971. Records include copies of Unity newsletter 1974 – 1986; Fortieth Anniversary booklet 2011, and minutes 1978 – 1980
Older Lesbian Network (LMA/4687)
A community group which provides space for older lesbians to meet and socialise, founded in 1984. Records comprise the OLN Newsletter 1996 – 2008.
Pink Singers (LMA/4708)
Europe’s longest running LGBTQ choir established in 1983 and based in London. Records comprise an oral history for their 30th anniversary.
‘rukus! Federation Limited (LMA/4571; B16/186)
The 'rukus! Black, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans (BLGBT) cultural archive. This extensive collection contains diaries, letters, minutes and related papers, magazines, pamphlets, flyers, posters, journals, books and monographs, photographs and prints, audio-visual material, memorabilia and ephemera. Collected from individuals, activists, DJs, Club promoters, community organisations, writers, artists and magazine publishers. Includes records of rukus! Federation Limited (2000 – 2010s) including 'Sharing Tongues' oral history project; Ajamu (1975 – 2009); and Topher Campbell (1994 – 2010), 1975 – 2016
Westways Greetings (LMA/4666.
Comprises sales catalogues and greeting cards with LGBTQ+ themes produced by Lip Productions Limited of Chicago, United States of America, which were distributed by Westways Greetings, 1970s.
Records of LGBTQ+ individuals
Allen, Clarence (B16/088)
Clarence Allen worked at the Black Lesbian and Gay Centre Project (BLGCP), Tottenham, which became the Black Lesbian and Gay Centre (BLGC) in Peckham. He was also a founder of Big Up, the first UK-based sexual health organizations for BMWHSWM (Black Men Who Have Sex With Men). Records include correspondence, printed material, photographs and videos.
Dunn, Valerie (B18/101 and B19/012)
Dunn was an activist and member of the Older Lesbian Network and her records comprise essays, articles, magazines and correspondence, 1982 – 2013.
Kremenstein, Gerald (LMA/4678)
Gerald Kremenstein (1935 - 2016 was a committee member of the Northwest London Lesbian and Gay Group (NWLLGG). He was also a member of the Jewish Gay and Lesbian Group (JGLG) and St Katharine's Group. Active in the London gay scene, he attended social events from the early 1970s to the mid-2000s and his collection includes flyers, tickets, badges and membership cards for clubs, events and groups, papers on a visit to America, and papers of Harrow and Brent Lesbian and Gay Group, Jewish Gay and Lesbian Group and Saint Katherine's Group, 1971 – 2008.
Page, David (B22/097)
A Campaigner for LGBTQ+ equality in the Church of England and founder member of the Southwark Diocese Lesbian and Gay Support Network. His records comprise documents and recordings of radio broadcasts and interviews, as well as papers relating to civil partnerships 2005 – 2012.
Singer, Dani (B23/096)
Founding member of Queer Tours of London, Singer is an artist and activist working in nightlife. Records comprise work commissioned for Transpose event at the Barbican, in 2023, including images, zine, drafts etc.
Spraggs, Gillian (LMA/4616)
Gillian Spraggs gained distinction as a campaigner for the right and equality of lesbians and gays, particularly within the education system. Records comprise publicity leaflets and brochures for various London LGBTQ+ organisations including Galop, Kenric and Stonewall, 1980 – 1999.
Swift, Joseph (B17/092)
Records comprise newsletters, 'Boy's Own' copies of publications by Press for Change, Transgender Film and Video Festival programmes 1997 – 1999, 2008, FTM (Female to Male) postcard, TG/TV newsletter, 1994 – 2014
Tatchell, Peter (LMA/4466; B17/172)
Peter Tatchell is a gay rights campaigner and activist. Records include correspondence, newspaper and magazine articles, press releases, posters, leaflets and publications on a broad range of issues such as Aids/HIV research, vivisection and animal rights, homophobic violence and policing, the age of consent, media portrayal of homosexuality, negative comments on sexuality by 'personalities', homophobic lyrics and the music industry amongst other subjects.
Records of LGBTQ+ projects
Liberal Judaism (LMA/4653)
Oral history projects produced by Liberal Judaism, including Rainbow Jews. Launched in October 2012, Rainbow Jews was a pioneering project that recorded and showcased Jewish LGBTQ+ history from the 1950s to today. Other projects include the Twilight People Oral History project (2015 – 2016) and Rainbow Pilgrims (2017 – 2018). Access to these collections is by appointment.
Rivers Cultures Festival (LMA/4534/01/01/003)
River Cultures Festival Limited began life in August 2002 as an annual Summer festival offering local young people the opportunity to showcase work in the Isle of Dogs. The collection includes ‘Walking Proud in East London’ oral project recordings and publications (2011). Access to the oral histories is by appointment.
Speak Out London – Diversity City (LMA/4689)
Speak Out was a community led LGBTQ+ Oral History project which ran at London Metropolitan Archives (now The London Archives) between 2014 – 2016. The interviews can be accessed by appointment.
Access to the collections
Please note that some records which include personal information relating to individuals are closed under data protection legislation. We are very happy to answer any queries about access.
Collections listed above which have a reference code beginning with B are uncatalogued, which means it is not possible to order them online to consult at the London Archives (TLA). However, in most cases we can provide access to these materials by appointment.
Although we are unable to conduct research on your behalf, we are very happy to offer assistance with your research. You can contact our enquiry service at ask@tla.libanswers.com